Painful Hands in Indian Creek

I am a terrible crack climber. I love the landscape of South East Utah, and I love being down there to climb, I’m just not very good at it. Sarah and I went down to meet up with a friend from Colorado for two days of crack climbing. Very quickly it became one day of crack climbing and a nice hike on the second day. For me it’s the feet. I can only jam my feet into a one inch wide crack so many times.

This weekend was a great chance for me to work on my digital vs. film debate. I think I’m really getting an idea of when I want to use each one. I am going to put up more comparisons later this week, but for now, I’ll mix some in with the trip report.

The first day was all about climbing. I hadn’t crack climbed in over a year, so I jumped head first into my warm-up by doing a 5.10 at the Battle of the Bulge area. Surprisingly, it went fairly well. My next climb, a 5.11 called Three Strikes, involved resting about every 10 feet. My main issue is I put to much gear in. I was placing pieces of protection about every 4 or 5 feet, which was making me very tired. I should be able to start trusting my gear if I did more traditional climbing. Don’t hold your breath!

The highlight of the day for me was the last climb. It’s a route call the cave route and I was able to get some pretty cool photos. Not just of climbing, but of the cave and some hiking shots too. Most of these shots were with digital. Shade is an area that I think I will mostly use digital. This first example is a shot that was taken with both digital and film. This was in the cave, looking up at a small opening. Indirect light from the sun was creating an amazing glow on the red rock. Digital is on the left, film on the right.

weekend2.jpgcave_film.jpg

It’s a small difference, but I really feel the digital image makes it look better, but also more real. The film image doesn’t quite represent what I felt my eyes really saw. Later this week I’ll post some shots that were taken in the sun, and we’ll see where I think film does a better job than digital.

Now for some shots from the day.  Can  you pick which one is film?
weekend4.jpgweekend6.jpg

weekend5.jpg

That evening, I was hoping for an amazing sunset that I could test my film camera with to confirm that sunsets and sunrises will be shot with film, but nothing came.  I did have an opportunity to take advantage of the post processing with digital by taking this image of North Six Shooter Peak, and changing it to monochrome.

weekend3.jpg

On Sunday, we woke up late, had breakfast in Moab, and went on a short hike up Negro Bill Canyon to see the Morninglory Arch.  It’s a beautiful Arch, although not as impressive as the completely free standing arches in Arches National Park.  It was partly cloudy day, so I played with both digital and film.  I found that this was a great time for digital also.  Although most things had sun on them, it wasn’t full sun.  Later this week I’ll post some good comparisons, but for now, here’s an image of the arch shot with digital.

weekend1.jpg

~ by cruxphoto on April 18, 2007.

5 Responses to “Painful Hands in Indian Creek”

  1. The guy climbing the cave route is the film shot, right? My personal preference–I think I prefer the digital. The film shots seem too purple (whether that means they have more red or more blue, I’m not sure).

  2. Actually, the film shot is the one of the flowers and the wall shot in full sun. I think the only give away is how blue the sky is. I agree with you about film in the shade. I should pull up some older photos from Maple canyon and compare the film shots vs. the digital. It’s very easy to see how the film makes everything blue/purple in the shade.

  3. I too would like to climb in this cave immediately!

  4. I LOVE your cave shots!!

  5. What incredibly beautiful light. Your images are stunning.

Leave a Reply

 
