Sunrise at the Great Salt Lake

Last week I was really excited about going skiing before work. We had some great snow, and the sun was out. The only problem… I was sick. I decided that I had to do something, otherwise I would just go crazy. I headed out to the Great Salt Lake before work Friday morning after bailing on a friend to go skiing. I wasn’t quite sure where to go, but I left time to drive along the frontage road and pick a spot I thought would work. Aside from a bit of haze (our good old inversion), I think the images turned out well. I love the contrast between the blue water, and the early morning sun on Stansbury.

Stansbury Island and the Great Salt Lake.  Copyright Nate Young and Crux Photo.

Just as I headed back to work, I saw this old trolley car near the Saltair Palace. I’m not sure the history of it, but I’d be interested in knowing if anyone else has that information. I thought It would be a perfect B&W. No fancy border this time!

Trolley Car near Saltair Palace on the Great Salt Lake.  Copyright Nate Young and Crux Photo.

~ by cruxphoto on February 22, 2008.

6 Responses to “Sunrise at the Great Salt Lake”

  1. great photos!!

  2. I’ve never seen the Salt Lake look this beautiful! Great shot!

  3. Thanks guys! Yeah, the Great Salt Lake normally isn’t so great. But the early morning light really helped out.

  4. Beautiful work Nate !! 🙂

  5. I prefer black and white photos, but the colors of the sunrise are great. It has a little IR-effect, don’t you think? I also like the “cut” of the picture with the big foreground.

    The second one is great as well. I love black and white pictures. They always have such a nice atmosphere. For me it always seems as if they show something behind the surface, they are more interesting. Great shot!

  6. Thanks Anne for all the great comments. The sunrise photo does have a bit of the IR look, probably from the very blue water. Although most of my photography is in color, I’ve enjoyed finding those images that look great in B&W. Thanks again for the comments and visiting.

Leave a Reply

 
