Castle Creek – A Beautiful Photo During Bad Weather

As I think I may have mentioned, I did not have much luck with the weather while in Aspen.  I wanted to get sunrise and sunset photos of some of the higher peaks like Pyramid and Maroon Bells.   The road to Maroon Bells is closed very low in the winter, and Pyramid Peak couldn’t shake that nasty cloud even when the rest of the valley was clear.  On the first morning of attempting to get photos, we went up Castle Creek Road to Ashcroft.  I decided to plant my self near a neat bend in the stream that had potential as the sun rose.  I knew that film would have a much better chance of saturating with all the colors, and I really have been trying to stick to my rules about film and digital.  I shot through out the morning, and although the sun never did what I wanted, I was very happy with the results.

Castle Creek near Aspen, CO.  Copyright Nate Young and Crux Photo.

~ by cruxphoto on January 24, 2008.

2 Responses to “Castle Creek – A Beautiful Photo During Bad Weather”

  1. This is a photo worth the wait.

  2. Beautiful image Nate, love how you captured the cool blue of the winter landscape, and the warmth of the winter light as well. Great work 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
