New Year, New Snow!

Tuesday morning, January 1st, was a beautiful morning.  Blue sky, bright sun, and a fresh coat of snow from the storms over the weekend.  It really is too bad that I was sleeping in; relatively at least.  We started hiking just east of Flagstaff Mountain around 10am and quickly started to overheat in the mountain sun. It’s amazing how warm the mountains get in the winter around Salt Lake.  Once you add the sun, and the reflected sun off the white snow, it just gets HOT. 

Our first run was down into Silver Fork of Big Cottonwood Canyon.  The snow was getting a bit heavy with the sun and heat, but it was still a great run.  About a 1000 vertical feet of smooth, soft powder.  Jon Campbell ripped a few turns for me throwing snow up against the blue sky.  I’m starting to really get the hang of the close up powder shots.  It’s tough with a 400mm zoom lens!

Jon Campbell in the Wasatch Backcountry.  Copyright Nate Young and Crux Photo.

Jon Campbell in the Wasatch Backcountry.  Copyright Nate Young and Crux Photo.

Unfortunately, the rest of the day wasn’t so smooth.  Because we started later in the morning, we didn’t ski back to our car till around 1pm.  By that time, the snow had been beaten by the sun, and was just a sticky hard mess at the bottom of the canyon.  The turns up high were fun, but I got to a point at the bottom where my poorly waxed board couldn’t even move downhill.  Lesson learned!

~ by cruxphoto on January 2, 2008.

5 Responses to “New Year, New Snow!”

  1. Amazing photo’s Nate. You should teach a class on action photography!

  2. I would love to do that. I just don’t know where and how. I’ve thought about looking at the local community college or high school that’s close by.

  3. I know around here the local community center is always looking for people to teach classes, as well as the local community college. Even an ad in your local paper could do the trick. Now if you ever move to my neck of the woods, let me know and I’d sign up for one of your classes in a heartbeat!

  4. Fantastic images Nate, you really have the action shots down, have you done any cover shots for any outdoor magazines because you definitely deserve one.

  5. Thanks Bernie. I love the action shots! It’s taken a lot of practice, but it’s really rewarding when you get a crisp shot like these. I’ve had a few small covers, but no big ones. I keep hoping for a bigger one. One of these days eh? I need to find more magazines to submit to.

Leave a Reply

 
